The Final Wedding Post

I have decided that my wedding blog deserves a final post, a post to end this journey and hopefully be a good start to something new. I love blogging too much to let it go, so I am going to continue (but obviously not blogging about my wedding..)

It’s been 10 and a half weeks, almost 3 months, since I married my soulmate on the 13th April. There are days where I still daydream about our perfect day and how it all unfolded after all my stressful planning and sleepless nights..
It was a big task, there’s no sugar coating it. Wedding planning ain’t easy! ESPECIALLY if you are a control freak like me ๐Ÿ™‚

Our wedding was a vintage elegance affair. I didn’t want a theme as such, I wanted our special day to be memorable and reflect Brendon and I.
I immediately knew I wanted to use lace and pearls as decor elements. I later decided to pair the lace and pearls with pops of pastels – roses and pretty flowers in shades of pastel, and our guests were asked to wear something pastel.
The result was a soft, vintage and romantic look and feel!

wedding blog strip

The morning of my wedding was really stressful for me. We (bridesmaids and my mom) woke up at about 5am to get ready. We started running late in between having our hair and make up done, and this made me panic a bit. I struggled to eat. I had to force a piece leftover pizza down my throat. Fainting on my big day was NOT an option.
When it was time to put my wedding dress on, I was a wreck! My bridesmaids tried to help me put it on, but no success. I was on edge!
Luckily our videographer, Andrew, stepped in and took control – he stood on a chair with my dress, held it above me, told me to lift up my arms, and he just slid it on over me. Like it was the hundredth time he’d done it (..well maybe it was).
After that things started to smooth out. My hair and make up was done, I was in my dress, and it was time for champagne ๐Ÿ™‚

I arrived at the church LATE, I was furious as this was the last thing I wanted to happen. We said “I do” in an old quaint Catholic church. Our nuptial mass was beautiful – traditional, but modern. It was well received by our guests and everyone wanted to know about the funny Archbishop Lawrence Henry!

Our reception venue in Hout Bay – Monchique, is an old barn style building nestled in a lovely lush garden. Very vintage, rustic and romantic! Our guests enjoyed mingling outside under a thatched roof as they nibbled on snacks and drank cocktails. I had exactly ONE snack and TWO cocktails, and that was it..
We then moved inside to the reception area, which looked STUNNING. I was so happy with the way everything gelled together. My decor ideas and the flowers looked unbelievable.
Lunch was awesome, and our cake was magical ๐Ÿ™‚

My husband and I are still on cloud 9, enjoying every moment together on our new path. We constantly talk about our wedding day and everything that we are grateful for. Its been more than 6 years, and we are finally united forever!
Its not an easy journey, things are still very new to us, but we are in it for the long run! Nothing can prepare you for married life, it sure is something else! We are taking it one day at a time and learning all the time..

Our wedding day was exceptional and I will always remember how I felt like a Princess for a day! I wish I could do it all over again…

Please check out our wedding preview video:

x
Carla

Leave a Reply

