Post Wedding Glow

Its been about 2.5 weeks since our wedding…and what a day it was!

During my planning process, a few newly married women all told me the same thing: “Make sure you relax so that you can enjoy your day – it goes by so fast!”
They weren’t kidding. The day literally went by in a flash!

The last 2 weeks leading up to the wedding was really emotional for me.
A few family members confirmed that they would not be coming to my wedding. People I grew up with. Someone I considered one of my best friends decided that she wasn’t going to be a part of the most special day in my life. It crushed me. I am still incredibly disappointed in her, but I realise that I can’t change other people or help them if they don’t want it. But I can pray for them.

Besides that, I struggled to eat or sleep. In a way I was kind of relieved that I wasn’t eating. Everyone kept telling me I was going to lose weight, and it was beginning to piss me off because I hadn’t lost a single centimetre! So when the infamous “bridal weightloss” finally happened, I managed to lose a measly 2 kgs…lol.
Needless to say, I gained it all back over our honeymoon! 🙂

Our honeymoon was fantastic. Just what the doctor ordered – some well needed resting time together. We had an awesome time in sunny Robertson and Montagu! We decided to have a local honeymoon (cheaper), and perhaps travel overseas next year.

And before anymore people ask us about babies…No, we won’t be having any anytime soon!

Brendon and I are almost 100% settled into our new apartment. Its been a big adjustment for both of us since we didn’t live together before, and we are used to having our moms cook and clean for us…But we are adjusting for sure! One step at a time, we’ll be pros at this marriage business soon!
For me, its a bit of a jump to cook everyday. I am most certainly not used to it (and the time it takes to make a meal…WTF!), but I am enjoying experimenting in the kitchen. I am just going to have to learn to manage my time..

So far so good, we are loving living together and learning from each other. Its been a long wait and we are finally here. After 5 years of dating and over a year of wedding planning, we are married!!

Thank you so much to everyone who came to our wedding and shared in our love and friendship for each other. It was a beautiful day and it all came together with the presence of our guests 🙂
We are so grateful for your well wishes and gifts.
A big shout out goes to Archbishop Henry! (Yes, a shout out!) Everyone has been asking us about this happy, funny, down to earth man! Our nuptial mass was amazing and we are truly blessed. Thank you Lord for all our rewards and blessings.

Photos coming soon, I will upload as soon as I get them! Sneak peek below from our awesome photographer Mark Engelbrecht! (the last pic)

blog

xx
Carla

3 thoughts on “Post Wedding Glow

  1. Your wedding day was very special Carla… you cant even begin to know how proud we are of you, you were THE most stunning bride ever….. the first ‘child’ in our family to tie the knot.. you setting an amazing president for the others.. we love you both and wish you all the best… happy experimenting, enjoy each others company and be patient… love is patient my dear Carla… step by step…marriage=work… make it work… love you lots… hope to see you all in June…..all my love always.. aunty Joy

  2. Congratulations Carla. Your looked so beautiful. All the best to you and your new hubby. Enjoy every moment because time does fly so quickly…

Leave a Reply

