6 months.

Brendon and I went to the church we will be getting married in yesterday, and I asked the priest if we could take a few photos…(sneak peek below)
I tried my best to be present and listen during the mass, but I kept getting distracted by the thought of walking down the aisle…! Its an exciting thought, especially since I can visualise the flowers, me in my dress and of course, Brendon in his suit ๐Ÿ™‚

At this moment almost everything is pretty much taken care of. Now all we need to do is to pay things off bit by bit, and save for the big payments we will be making next year just before the wedding!
Brendon is in charge of booking the organist and choir, and arranging the order of service. I have given him carte blanche with regards to the ceremony, since he has been a Catholic all his life, and he knows MUCH more hymns than me! Lol

I was a bit disappointed a few months ago when we were told that we couldn’t get married in our church, The Most Holy Redeemer in Bergfliet. This church holds a special place in my heart, since it is really the first church I can call my own. This is where I got confirmed as a Catholic about a year and a half ago. So you can imagine why I was disappointed…But its good to know that we can baptise our children there one day!

The fact that our back up church is also old and ‘stoney’ helps a lot. I REALLY didn’t want to get married in a modern looking church. I’ve never dreamt of a particular church, or ceremony, or anything wedding related really….But when Brendon and I got engaged, I knew I wanted to get married at an old church. You could say that Brendon ignited a dormant flame inside of me. I wasn’t one of those little girls who dreamt of the ‘fairytale wedding’. Never had a thought about my wedding dress, or Prince Charming, nothing!
In fact, I was totally anti marriage until we were dating for a few years..

On the flip side, the weather has been crazy these last few weeks, so we’ve had to postpone our engagement shoot to the 11th November. Hopefully by then the wind and the occasional rain would’ve died down..

Other than that, we have 6 months to go! Woohoo ๐Ÿ™‚

xx
Carla

Leave a Reply

