Trash the dress…..?

I’ve just come across a really sad story about a bride who died a few days ago while doing a ‘Trash the Dress’ shoot. For those of you who don’t know, Trash the Dress shoots have become very popular over the past few years. Its a photoshoot of the couple or bride by herself, in their wedding attire after the wedding. It’s often taken in unusual locations, and can include the bride in water, mud, or even paint! Why this is popular, is beyond me…

Anyway, one reason NOT to do a Trash the Dress shoot in a lake or the ocean, is because its dangerous. A Canadian woman recently drowned during her Trash the Dress photoshoot, when the dress became too heavy for her to keep herself afloat.
See article: Bride drowns in wedding dress

When Brendon and I got engaged last October, I immediately thought (and assumed) that I would hire a dress or have one made and then sell it afterwards. I always thought that buying a wedding dress was a stupid idea. How things have changed! My wedding dress is at home, safe and hidden, and I can’t wait to wear it on my wedding day! What I am going to do with it afterwards, is something I will figure out next year.

I have never met a local bride who’s done a Trash the Dress shoot….and I most certainly will not be doing one!
It took me 5 months to pay off my wedding dress and I want to treasure it for as long as possible 🙂
What do you think? Would you consider trashing your dress…?

xx
Carla

6 thoughts on “Trash the dress…..?

  1. I too can’t for the life of me figure out why you would trash your wedding dress! After paying so much for it! A woman looks forward to her wedding day and wearing that special dress for many years. It is something to be treasured. I certainly will when I eventually get there. Who knows, maybe my daughter would want to wear it on her wedding day? Just update it a little 🙂
    Enjoy all the preparations, can’t wait to see the engagement shoot.
    xoxo

    • Me too Melissa, I don’t understand it…
      Perhaps I will keep my dress for my daughter, would be great to pass it on 🙂
      Engagement shoot in 3 weeks! Eeeek…!

  2. Mmm I agree with you, definitely will not trash my dress! Why ruin something so beautiful? You’re making me stress a bit though because I don’t have a dress yet!! Iieeekkk. Just can’t make up my mind. We also got engaged in October last year by the way 🙂

    • Finding a dress is fun! I enjoyed trying on all the different styles and designs…You will be surprised how your opinion on wedding dresses will change! What you originally pictured yourself in is normally what isn’t picked in the end….You’re gonna love the experience!

      • You know, that’s actually exactly why I haven’t decided on one yet.. Because what I want changes so damn often! I want to hold out the final decision for as long as I can, so that I’ll hopefully still love my dress on the actual wedding day 😉 can’t wait to see yours!

  3. So sad 😦 I thought about the idea of trashing my dress for about 5 seconds, but then quickly decided I will box it up and give it to my daughter/granddaughter, or make some kind of heirloom with it.
    And my mum was shocked at the idea of trash the dress lol!

Leave a Reply

